Your Apple Device Can Be Hacked If Not Updated To iOS 14.5.1

You might have recently updated your Apple device with the latest iOS14.5. Still, just a week after the release of iOS 14.5, Apple rolled in with another update, iOS14.5.1, and recommended users to update their devices as the new update has fixed some security issues that the users reported earlier which have been considered very vulnerable. The update log for Apple said, “This update provides important security updates and is recommended for all users.”

The update was released to fix four WebKit-related security issues along with the App Tracking transparency bug that has restricted users from accessing app tracking transparency prompts. The problem was reported widely by the users of the esteemed American brand. The company’s update log said, “This update fixes an issue with App Tracking Transparency where some users who previously disabled Allow Apps to request to track in settings may not receive prompts from apps after re-enabling it.”. Since the update has minor augmentations, it takes around 120 to 130 MB of data to update the system.

Devices eligible for this update

The updates iOS14.5.1 and iPadOS14.5.1 have been released for various iPhone and iPad models, namely “Available for: iPhone 6s and later, iPad Pro (all models), iPad Air 2 and later, iPad 5th generation and later, iPad mini 4 and later, and iPod touch (7th generation)” as mentioned on the Apple support site.  Apple considered the issue so stern that, along with iOs 14.5.1, the company also released updates for Apple Watch and Mac computers, for watchOS7.4.1 and Big Sur 11.3.1, respectively. They have also started providing updates 12.5.3 for older iPhone and iPad models.

What are the updates for?

The updates are supposed to fix four WebKit related security issue in all including, two major zero-day security issues in the WebKit, which is responsible for processing information in the Safari Web browser, App store, and Mail. The issues have been reported as CVE-2021-30665, which is a problem related to integer overflow as per the information. On the other hand, The issue with ID CVE-2021-30663 is a memory corruption issue. 

Although the update is also supposed to fix the issue with the App Tracking Transparency bug, there have been reports of users still facing the issue even after updating their respective devices.

From now on, the users of the brand will not be able to downgrade their devices to the previous OS if they have updated to iOS 14.5 or iOS 14.5.1 as the company has stopped signing iOS 14.4.2.

How to update your respected devices?

If you haven’t received the notification yet on your devices, this is how you can update your device:

  • For iPhone and iPad, you can download the updates by going through the settings app. The process  Settings > General > Software Updates  is for eligible devices.
  • For MacBook, iMac, Mac mini, and other Mac models, the updates can be downloaded by clicking on the Apple icon  in the top left corner of the screen and going into System Preferences > Software Update.
  • For Apple watch, the updates can be downloaded by going into Watch app from the iPhone and later clicking on My Watch or the other option to download it directly from Apple Watch.

How to use the update?

For App Tracking Transparency which carried out with iOS 14.5, you’ll need to discover this choice in Settings > Privacy > Tracking on your iPhone or iPad. Here, you will see a switch for Allow Apps to Request to Track. On the off chance that you wish to see prompts from applications requesting consent to follow you, or you determine peculiar delight in tapping on Ask App Not to Track for each application’s persuading brief, you need to flip this to on. That implies it ought to be green and not turned grey out.

Presently, every time you open a recently introduced application or an application that has gotten a critical update on your iPhone at the appropriate time, you’ll be found out if you wish to permit the application to follow your movement across other organizations’ applications and sites. Your decisions are either Allow or Ask App Not to Track.

Application engineers have the choice of adding an explanation here concerning why they need to follow you across other applications and sites. Apple clarifies that on the off chance that you decide to deny the authorization and be certain that an application shouldn’t follow you across the length and width of the internet, all users of an application will in any case especially stay available to you.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x